Skip to content

Slacker

December 7, 2009

Hey darlings! Well I have LOTS to catch you up on since I’ve neglected you for a whole 3 weeks… Work has definitely been crazy, especially right before and right after the Thanksgiving holiday, so that is partially why I haven’t been writing lately. Everything got so crazy that I even contemplated on forfeiting the blog all together…I felt like I wasn’t concentrating on work enough and I started to get discouraged, thinking do people really care what I’m writing about? So, I wasn’t sure if it was good for me to keep up with it, BUT I’m here to say that I decided to not forfeit!! I’m going to stick with it and keep on truckin’ 🙂

Just to get me back on track, here are a few updates of the past few weeks!

I came home one night after work and felt like we didn’t have much food in our fridge, but knew we had some frozen shrimp in the freezer and tortillas. I immediately think…SHRIMP TACOS! I loooove fish and shrimp tacos. If you live in NYC and you love Mexican food, you HAVE to go to this place called Toloache (on 50th btwn Broadway and 8th). They have this fruit guacamole (called Frutas Guac with avocados, pomegranate, Vidalia onions, mango, apples, peaches, Habanero and Thai basil)  that is to die for and I highly recommend the shrimp tacos. YUM! Anyways…I keep digressing. So, I decided to make my own version of a shrimp taco with my dill Greek yogurt sauce, tomatoes, black beans, arugula and a sprinkle of shredded white cheddar cheese, all wrapped in a warm flour tortilla!

It was delicious and so colorful! See what I mean? What a beauty!

A few days later, Dave and I were walking around Hoboken..trying to check out the neighborhood and we found a self-serve frozen yogurt place called Koa Koa! SO COOL!

I like trying new things, so I got 3 different flavors to try. There were a bunch with all different kinds of toppings too…fruit, granola, candy…lots! I decided on the pumpkin, pistachio and cappuccino frozen yogurt. The pistachio ended up being my favorite and I actually was not fond of the pumpkin. The spice flavor was too overwhelming and the cappuccino was just nasty! I was not a fan. Next time I might just get the plain yogurt and fill it with fruit. I love fruit!

Later on during the week I went home for Thanksgiving (which was AMAZING! My favorite holiday by far 🙂 ) I love being able to spend time with my family in front of a stacked plate of comfort food accompanied by a soothing glass of red wine. There is never any pressure involved with Thanksgiving (aka getting presents for everyone and going broke doing so :)) It’s simply a time to be thankful for what you have with the ones you love.

I decided that I HAD to make something for Thanksgiving since I have this new found obsession with food. So, the afternoon before the big day I relaxed and did absolutely nothing but bake my dish. I’ve been dieing to make it, but haven’t had the time, so I was pretty excited! I was looking through the November issue of Gourmet at work one day and saw something called a Fig Crostada. It sounded SO good to me. Lately I’ve been on this fig craze…not sure why, but I absolutely love them! Thank god I only had nothing to do because it took me ALL day to make!! Every last bit of that Crostada was homemade. I made the pastry dough and even fresh squeezed the orange juice it called for! Now that’s dedication!!

It turned out great! I probably won’t ever make it again, just because it took SO long, but it was very good. Kind of tasted like a giant fig newton however, so it wasn’t to die for, but still very yummy.

Another awesome fig dish, if you like appetizers are figs sliced in half with a spread of goat cheese on top, wrapped with prosciutto. Super easy and verrrry yummy!

Well, I’ll be back to talk about my awesome weekend shortly (Ash came to visit and we met up with some fellow bloggers!), but wanted to give you the quick recap. Thanks for baring with me!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. julie permalink
    December 7, 2009 1:40 am

    ahh i go to school in new yawk but live on long island and that fruit salsa sounds SO good 🙂 great blog girl!

  2. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    December 7, 2009 2:45 pm

    I am soo happy I got to meet you! We must hang out again and we are def taking a yoga class together!!

  3. December 7, 2009 2:58 pm

    look at your fancy yogurt sauce smear on the plate. 😉
    thanks for having meee, love you times a million!

  4. December 7, 2009 5:52 pm

    it was great to meet you! that yogurt looks delish!

  5. December 7, 2009 8:05 pm

    Nice meeting you on Saturday! We will have to hang out again soon! That self serve fro-yo place looks great!

  6. December 13, 2009 12:14 am

    GLad you decided to stick it out! Honestly, it doesn’t matter how frequently you post! I know during this month..I’ll prolly average once or twice per week (IF THAT)…It’s always fun to come back and update though 🙂

  7. December 15, 2009 3:06 pm

    youre slacking again!

Leave a comment